Gateway Building Systems History

Gateway Building Systems is the region’s design and build leader of pre-engineered buildings for the commercial and agricultural markets. Gateway Building Systems currently has offices in West Fargo, Jamestown, and Minot, North Dakota as well as Fergus Falls, Minnesota. A dealer for innovative companies like Butler Manufacturing, Brock Bins, and MC Dryers, Gateway Building Systems has built its outstanding reputation on quality and reliability.

Initially started in 1958 by Tom Williams and Jim Schultz, Gateway Builders was a design / build company for agricultural buildings. In 1974 Gateway Builders was split into two separate companies, Gateway Builders, Inc. and Farm Builders, Inc. Kevin Johnson, who is now President of Gateway Building Systems, acquired Farm Builders, Inc. along with Fred Super in 1977. In 1985 Kevin Johnson purchased Fred Suppes’ share in the company and also acquired Gateway Builders, a companion firm focuses on commercial and industrial buildings in 1986. In 1991 he combined the two companies and changed the name to Gateway Building Systems, Inc.

Over the next twenty years Gateway Building Systems has continued to build a strong reputation in the industry as a design / build contractor by taking excellent care of client’s needs in a variety of locations in an effective and efficient manner. Gateway Building Systems has a portfolio of successfully completed projects – not only in North Dakota, Minnesota, and South Dakota but throughout the United States and worldwide! President Kevin Johnson knows the value of relationships in serving their clients. “Relationships are very important. We have an open-door policy in our company – we want to be very approachable and our sales staff are empowered to do the right thing for our clients.” That’s why 85% of our business is repeat business. “We just don’t design and build for today, we look to the future and create a plan for our customers 3, 5, and 10 years down the road,” says President Johnson.

One of the advantages of working with Gateway Building Systems is we have complete control over your project by owning our own equipment and employing our own crews and safety personnel.

From the quality and longevity of our people to the customers we have served over the last fifty plus years, Gateway Building Systems continues to focus on the future and the needs of our customers.

Gateway Building Systems. Committed to integrity, reliability and craftsmanship since 1958.

Total Control

Gateway Building Systems has gained a hard-earned reputation as a Design/Build contractor that holds experience, quality, reliability, and safety above all other considerations in the commercial and agricultural building sector.

Our in-house support services provide us total control of your project at all times, keeping construction on schedule and on budget! We work with a select group of qualified subcontractors to complete the project.

Performance

When timing is especially critical, we can fast track your project to meet crucial deadlines. This involves applying grading permits while working drawings are being finalized and pouring foundations while decisions are being made about the building’s interior.

We constantly strive to identify and eliminate potential problems before they occur.

Quality

Butler is the world’s premier manufacturer of pre-engineered building systems and 20-year roofing systems. While other manufacturers are cutting quality to remain competitive on price, Butler is always ahead of the competition through research and development, product innovation and manufacturing efficiency to remain the industry leader in value and quality. We simply won’t use second best.

Where dependability, longevity and financial strength are an issue to a client, Gateway Building Systems has a verifiable track record of success based on years of professional performance.

Reliability

When you select Gateway Building Systems, you’re getting more than a contractor. You’re getting experienced personnel, time-tested subcontractors and our pledge to be there even after the project is completed.

Full Service

We provide designers, construction managers, site planners and craftsmen to construct a building that meets your expectations. Our range of contracting services takes you from the ground up…including site selection, obtaining permits, soil investigation, site development and preparation, foundations – everything through the final landscaping.

Commercial Building Staff

WEST FARGO, ND

2138 Main Ave W
West Fargo, ND 58078
701.293.7202

 

Scott McKernan

CEO – SMcKernan@gatewaybuilding.com

Mike Peyerl

GM- Building Division – MPeyerl@gatewaybuilding.com

Steve Pederson

Sales / Project Management / IT – SPederson@gatewaybuilding.com

Shane Steckler

Sales / Project Management – SSteckler@gatewaybuilding.com

Chris Mohs

Project Management – CMohs@gatewaybuilding.com

Gene Anderson

Field Project Manager – GAnderson@gatewaybuilding.com

Ken Axtman

Salesman – KAxtman@gatewaybuilding.com

Agricultural Building  & Equipment Staff

WEST FARGO, ND

2138 Main Ave W
West Fargo, ND 58078
701.293.7202

Scott McKernan

CEO – SMcKernan@gatewaybuilding.com

Kevin Johnson

President / Sales – KJohnson@gatewaybuilding.com

Michael Goetz

Senior Project Manager – MGoetz@gatewaybuilding.com

Joe Horner

VP of Operations – JHorner@gatewaybuilding.com

Dave Erbes

Sales / Project Management – DErbes@gatewaybuilding.com

Joe Kolling

Sales / Project Management – JKolling@gatewaybuilding.com

David Geske

Seed Equipment Division / Sales / Project Management – DGeske@gatewaybuilding.com

Ross Renecker

Purchasing / Parts Foreman – RRenecker@gatewaybuilding.com

FERGUS FALLS, MN

17153 Co. HWY 82
Fergus Falls, MN 56537
218.998.2994

Grant Schmall

Sales / Project Management – GSchmall@gatewaybuilding.com

Ryan Saurer

Dryer Service / Project Management – RSaurer@gatewaybuilding.com

Jasper Reisenauer

Project Manager – JReisenauer@gatewaybuilding.com

JAMESTOWN, ND

2505 17th Street SE
Jamestown, ND 58401 
701.952.9300

Chris Housh

Division Manager / Sales / Project Management – CHoush@gatewaybuilding.com

Chad Warner

Sales / Project Management – CWarner@gatewaybuilding.com

Office Staff

WEST FARGO, ND

2138 Main Ave W
West Fargo, ND 58078
701.293.7202

Lyn King

Human Resources – LKing@gatewaybuilding.com

Rhea Johnson

Secretary / Treasurer – RJohnson@gatewaybuilding.com

Tim Buckhouse

Staff Accountant – TBuckhouse@gatewaybuilding.com

Tony Fischer

Controller – TFischer@gatewaybuilding.com

Brian Johnson

Logistics Coordinator – BJohnson@gatewaybuilding.com

Kayla Dockter

Administrative – KDockter@gatewaybuilding.com

Rod Schaffer

Safety Director – RSchaffer@gatewaybuilding.com

Candice Grinde

Accounts Payable – CGrinde@gatewaybuilding.com

Jeremy Johnson

Fleet Manager / Logistics – JJohnson@gatewaybuilding.com

FERGUS FALLS, MN

17153 Co. HWY 82
Fergus Falls, MN 56537
218.998.2994

Rob Lesmeister

Drafting – RLesmeister@gatewaybuilding.com

Miranda VanSanten

Administrative – MVanSanten@gatewaybuilding.com

Company News

November 29, 2018 in News

Shawna Olson Interview at Northern Ag Expo

Read More
November 9, 2018 in News

NEW to Gateway Building Systems: GAN-AG and USC Seed Treatment Equipment Solutions

Gateway Building Systems is excited to announce their recent roll-up of GAN-AG and Dealership for USC Seed Treatment Equipment.  This acquisition allows Gateway to bring all aspects of grain systems…
Read More
September 5, 2018 in Job Openings

LOCAL/REGIONAL FLATBED DRIVER

Reports to: Operations Manager/Project Manager Direct Reports: None Basic Functions: Moving and delivery of construction equipment and materials to and from job work sites. Loading and unloading equipment and materials,…
Read More
September 6, 2017 in Job Openings

BIN ERECTORS

Gateway Building Systems is now hiring Bin Erectors. Previous experience is preferred. Travel is a must and wages are based on experience.  Pre-employment drug screen required. Apply online or in…
Read More
September 6, 2017 in Job Openings

STEEL BUILDING LABORERS

Join our industry leading construction team! Gateway Building Systems has openings for Steel Building Laborers.  Must be comfortable with heights.  Advancement opportunities available.  Positions are year round with overtime available.  …
Read More
September 6, 2017 in Job Openings

GENERAL LABORERS

Gateway Building Systems is now hiring General Laborers.  Travel is a must and wages are based on experience.  Pre-employment drug screen required. Apply online or in person at: 2138 Main…
Read More
September 6, 2017 in Job Openings

CONCRETE LABORERS

Gateway Building Systems is now hiring Concrete Laborers. Prior Experience is preferred, travel is a must, and wages are based on experience.  Pre-employment drug screen required. Apply online or in…
Read More
September 6, 2017 in Job Openings

MILLWRIGHT FOREMEN

Join our industry leading construction team. Gateway Building Systems has immediate openings for Millwright Foremen. Must be proficient in flat, vertical, and overhead stick welding and comfortable with heights. Positions are…
Read More
September 6, 2017 in Job Openings

STEEL BUILDING FOREMEN

Join our industry leading construction team! Gateway Building Systems has openings for Steel Building Foremen.  Must be comfortable with heights.  Positions are year round with overtime available.   Must be able…
Read More
September 6, 2017 in Job Openings

MILLWRIGHT WELDERS

Join our industry leading construction team. Gateway Building Systems has immediate openings for Millwright/Welders. Must be proficient in flat, vertical, and overhead stick welding and comfortable with heights. Advancement opportunities available.…
Read More

Contact Us Form

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Your Phone (required)

Type of Project

Description

[recaptcha theme:dark]

West Fargo

2138 Main Ave W
West Fargo, ND 58078
701.293.7202

Fergus Falls

 17153 Co. HWY 82 
Fergus Falls, MN 56537 
218.998.2994

Jamestown

 2505 17th Street SE
Jamestown, ND 58401 
701.952.9300