Gateway Building Systems History

Gateway Building Systems is the region’s design and build leader of pre-engineered buildings for the commercial and agricultural markets. Gateway Building Systems currently has offices in West Fargo, Jamestown, and Minot, North Dakota as well as Fergus Falls, Minnesota. A dealer for innovative companies like Butler Manufacturing, Brock Bins, and MC Dryers, Gateway Building Systems has built its outstanding reputation on quality and reliability.

Initially started in 1958 by Tom Williams and Jim Schultz, Gateway Builders was a design / build company for agricultural buildings. In 1974 Gateway Builders was split into two separate companies, Gateway Builders, Inc. and Farm Builders, Inc. Kevin Johnson, who is now President of Gateway Building Systems, acquired Farm Builders, Inc. along with Fred Super in 1977. In 1985 Kevin Johnson purchased Fred Suppes’ share in the company and also acquired Gateway Builders, a companion firm focuses on commercial and industrial buildings in 1986. In 1991 he combined the two companies and changed the name to Gateway Building Systems, Inc.

Over the next twenty years Gateway Building Systems has continued to build a strong reputation in the industry as a design / build contractor by taking excellent care of client’s needs in a variety of locations in an effective and efficient manner. Gateway Building Systems has a portfolio of successfully completed projects – not only in North Dakota, Minnesota, and South Dakota but throughout the United States and worldwide! President Kevin Johnson knows the value of relationships in serving their clients. “Relationships are very important. We have an open-door policy in our company – we want to be very approachable and our sales staff are empowered to do the right thing for our clients.” That’s why 85% of our business is repeat business. “We just don’t design and build for today, we look to the future and create a plan for our customers 3, 5, and 10 years down the road,” says President Johnson.

One of the advantages of working with Gateway Building Systems is we have complete control over your project by owning our own equipment and employing our own crews and safety personnel.

From the quality and longevity of our people to the customers we have served over the last fifty plus years, Gateway Building Systems continues to focus on the future and the needs of our customers.

Gateway Building Systems. Committed to integrity, reliability and craftsmanship since 1958.

Total Control

Gateway Building Systems has gained a hard-earned reputation as a Design/Build contractor that holds experience, quality, reliability, and safety above all other considerations in the commercial and agricultural building sector.

Our in-house support services provide us total control of your project at all times, keeping construction on schedule and on budget! We work with a select group of qualified subcontractors to complete the project.

Performance

When timing is especially critical, we can fast track your project to meet crucial deadlines. This involves applying grading permits while working drawings are being finalized and pouring foundations while decisions are being made about the building’s interior.

We constantly strive to identify and eliminate potential problems before they occur.

Quality

Butler is the world’s premier manufacturer of pre-engineered building systems and 20-year roofing systems. While other manufacturers are cutting quality to remain competitive on price, Butler is always ahead of the competition through research and development, product innovation and manufacturing efficiency to remain the industry leader in value and quality. We simply won’t use second best.

Where dependability, longevity and financial strength are an issue to a client, Gateway Building Systems has a verifiable track record of success based on years of professional performance.

Reliability

When you select Gateway Building Systems, you’re getting more than a contractor. You’re getting experienced personnel, time-tested subcontractors and our pledge to be there even after the project is completed.

Full Service

We provide designers, construction managers, site planners and craftsmen to construct a building that meets your expectations. Our range of contracting services takes you from the ground up…including site selection, obtaining permits, soil investigation, site development and preparation, foundations – everything through the final landscaping.

Commercial Building Staff

WEST FARGO, ND

2138 Main Ave W
West Fargo, ND 58078
701.293.7202

 

Steve Pederson

Sales / Project Management / IT – SPederson@gatewaybuilding.com

Chris Mohs

Project Management – CMohs@gatewaybuilding.com

Gene Anderson

Field Project Manager – GAnderson@gatewaybuilding.com

Ken Axtman

Salesman – KAxtman@gatewaybuilding.com

Agricultural Building  & Equipment Staff

WEST FARGO, ND

2138 Main Ave W
West Fargo, ND 58078
701.293.7202

Kevin Johnson

President / Sales – KJohnson@gatewaybuilding.com

Michael Goetz

Senior Project Manager – MGoetz@gatewaybuilding.com

Joe Horner

VP of Operations – JHorner@gatewaybuilding.com

Dave Erbes

Sales / Project Management – DErbes@gatewaybuilding.com

Ross Christianson

Sales Representative –RChristianson@gatewaybuilding.com 

David Geske

Seed Equipment Division / Sales / Project Management – DGeske@gatewaybuilding.com

Ross Renecker

Purchasing / Parts Foreman – RRenecker@gatewaybuilding.com

Tim Anderson

Project Management/ Drafting – tanderson@gatewaybuilding.com

FERGUS FALLS, MN

17153 Co. HWY 82
Fergus Falls, MN 56537
218.998.2994

Cameron Rittenour

Division Manager – crittenour@gatewaybuilding.com

Jasper Reisenauer

Project Manager – JReisenauer@gatewaybuilding.com

Brian Thielen

Sales Representative – bthielen@gatewaybuilding.com

JAMESTOWN, ND

2505 17th Street SE
Jamestown, ND 58401 
701.952.9300

Chris Housh

Division Manager / Sales / Project Management – CHoush@gatewaybuilding.com

Casey Trzpuc

Sales Representative – ctrzpuc@gatewaybuilding.com

Office Staff

WEST FARGO, ND

2138 Main Ave W
West Fargo, ND 58078
701.293.7202

Rhea Johnson

Secretary / Treasurer – RJohnson@gatewaybuilding.com

Tim Buckhouse

Staff Accountant – TBuckhouse@gatewaybuilding.com

Tony Fischer

Controller – TFischer@gatewaybuilding.com

Brian Johnson

Logistics Coordinator – BJohnson@gatewaybuilding.com

Kayla Dockter

Administrative – KDockter@gatewaybuilding.com

Rod Schaffer

Safety Director – RSchaffer@gatewaybuilding.com

Candice Grinde

Accounts Payable – CGrinde@gatewaybuilding.com

Jeremy Johnson

Fleet Manager / Logistics – JJohnson@gatewaybuilding.com

Jeremy Leiviska

HR Business Partner – jleiviska@gatewaybuilding.com

FERGUS FALLS, MN

17153 Co. HWY 82
Fergus Falls, MN 56537
218.998.2994

Miranda VanSanten

Administrative – MVanSanten@gatewaybuilding.com

Company News

September 28, 2020 in News

Chris “One Man Does It All” Mohs

After seven years of having Chris Mohs as an amazing project manager at Gateway Building Systems -- you finally get…
Read More
July 21, 2020 in News

Jeremy “Unofficial Counselor” Leiviska

Jeremy has been our HR manager here at Gateway for over a year!  He spends his days running around and…
Read More
April 29, 2020 in News

Lynn Overboe | Customer Testimonial

Today, we want to shine a light on one of our very loyal customers, Lynn Overboe. Lynn has been working…
Read More
February 10, 2020 in News

Kayla “Task Master” Dockter

Kayla is our Administrative Assistant, but don’t be fooled by her title -- this girl wears all the hats around here…
Read More
January 28, 2020 in News

Roof/Bin Prevention

When it comes to the strength and integrity of your buildings and grain bins, one of the greatest threats is accumulated…
Read More
November 9, 2018 in News

NEW to Gateway Building Systems: GAN-AG and USC Seed Treatment Equipment Solutions

Gateway Building Systems is excited to announce their recent roll-up of GAN-AG and Dealership for USC Seed Treatment Equipment.  This…
Read More
October 7, 2020 in Job Openings

Jamestown Location: Millwright

Jamestown Location: Millwright Join our industry leading construction team. Gateway Building Systems has immediate openings for Millwright Must be proficient…
Read More
October 7, 2020 in Job Openings

Jamestown Location: Millwright

Jamestown Location: Millwright Join our industry leading construction team. Gateway Building Systems has immediate openings for Millwright/Welders. Must be proficient…
Read More
October 7, 2020 in Job Openings

West Fargo Location: Millwright

West Fargo Location: Millwright Join our industry leading construction team. Gateway Building Systems has immediate openings for Millwrights. Must be…
Read More

Contact Us Form